Nothing like a hospital visit to make you change your…everything?

Image

So yup I managed to get myself a nice 3 day stay in the hospital. Being pumped full of steroids and antibiotics every 4 hours was pretty intense but the lovely pain killers made it less, well, less painful.

While I was in Hospital The Daily Mail were prepping my story which is out tomorrow (with any luck!) and it made me realise how important it is to be healthy. I’m right on the brink of having the career I’ve always wanted and a stupid ear piercing has knocked me for six.

I’ve been so weak I haven’t been able to make myself food or stand in the shower alone because I keep fainting.

What have I learned?

1. It’s really tough being ill. From now on, I will really appreciate being healthy and my body and mind working. Not everyone else has that luxury. I’m lucky to be getting mine back.

2. I really struggled with having to let someone else take care of me (massive note to self). Although having to let a certain someone help me in the shower wasn’t all that bad….

3. The NHS is amazing – I don’t care what anyone else says. The nurses looked after me so well.  At 3am on the first night when my blood pressure suddenly dropped, I distinctively remember the sound of the machine I was hooked up to aggressively beeping at me and I felt like the walls were collapsing around me. I had no energy to do anything, I felt so weak, all I could do was cry. The nurse on call sat by my bed, rubbing my back and talking to me as if she’d known me her whole life. It was care beyond care. It was exactly what my mother would have done had she been there. The biggest shout out to the nurses at the ENT Hospital in London. I am happy to pay tax and NI in this country!

4. I’m an idiot for not taking better care of myself!

I’m glad it’s all over. As my Producer Steve always says, onwards and upwards!

In a few days I’ll be back to full strength and I will be taking up Yoga, running and eating healthy food. No more crazy long party nights (well maybe just one or two a month, instead of a week!)

Look after yourself people, it’s a crazy world out there and you never know what’s around the corner… enjoy it all, the good, the bad, the showers and the sick!

Here’s my photo collages from my hospital adventure! PLEASE NOTE, as I did, the colour co-ordinated slippers, chairs and curtains! NHS CHIC!

Image

Image

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Nothing like a hospital visit to make you change your…everything?

  1. Kelly says:

    Your story in the daily mail of recognising who you are is a mirror of my life minus the marriage! Young, blonde & attractive and not the slightest look of being ‘lesbian’ yet trying to pursue the ‘normal’ trail of life pushed me into angry & confused emotions while following the crowd. I’m glad you shared this as I can really relate. X

  2. Vics7 says:

    Your life is fragile and precious – take care of it. Reading your article in the D.M today, I felt compelled to contact you as we both have had similar experiences though I am just a few years ahead of you…I now have a brilliant partner, a fantastic little baby boy and couldn’t be more fulfilled…Those crazy days of finding oneself after “playing straight” might of been fun at the time but hold very little weight in comparision. Wishing you every happiness for the future Jana!

  3. blondaii says:

    Oops didn’t log in, as I was saying: Your story in the daily mail of recognising who you are is a mirror of my life minus the marriage! Young, blonde & attractive and not the slightest look of being ‘lesbian’ yet trying to pursue the ‘normal’ trail of life pushed me into angry & confused emotions while following the crowd. I’m glad you shared this as I can really relate. X

Leave a comment