YOU

Do what you feel in your heart to be right – for you’ll be criticised anyway. You’ll be dammed if you do, and damned if you don’t.

– Eleanor Roosevelt.

A quote that rings very true in my life. If you’ve read my previous blogs you’ll know my story, if not that quote should be enough.  Following what your heart tells you to be right,  even if its the opposite of what everyone thinks you should do, in my perspective is the only thing to do. It’s also the most difficult challenged I’ve faced. Particularly recently when filming my first lead role in a feature film.

I’ve learnt a heap in the past two weeks, not only about what I can do professionally as an actor but how my mind works when I’m challenged. When I was really tested at the beginning of the shoot  I let myself believe that maybe I wasn’t good enough but as time past, I realised that I was. As soon as that switch flicked in my head everything changed.

Being afraid everyday, challenging myself to step out of the boundaries I’ve created only leads me to a greater knowledge of what I can achieve and what makes me feel alive.

One day one of the crew onset wasn’t very happy and I heard myself giving her some advice. I was said, “When you realise that being yourself IS good enough, that who you are, no matter what your faults, is ok. Every worry fades away and only then can you be really fearless.” It’s easier said than done but I needed to listen to my own advice that week.

Being accepting of who I am, knowing my strengths and my weaknesses and working my life around the understanding of them, that’s why I’m finally doing what I know I was born to do, what I dreamed of doing as a kid. It took me till 31 to know myself, to understand what I can achieve and feel fulfilled by my life. It doesn’t  matter when it happens, only that your mind and heart together are open and willing to let it happen. That and the determination to keep going, even when all you want to do is run away.

I guess what I’m trying to say in a very LONG winded way is, you’re never to old, to young, to big, to small, to stupid, to smart, to kind, to cruel, to cool or to sad to be who you really are. Enjoy and embrace every experience and moment you get in life.

We only have one, so live it.

 

 

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

