Sitting on the fence

images-1

I’m almost done filming my short documentary and throughout the process a friend said that I’ve become less and less opinionated. By that I think he meant I’ve been holding back on how strongly I feel about things. I can’t tell if that’s a good thing or not? To make a statement in under 10 minuets on camera the point has to be set out and has to be clear. But the more I interview people and listen to others the more I understand that my opinion is one of billions and that’s when I start to question myself. Questioning yourself, I think, is something we should all do but if you do it too much it can work against you.

I know all the counter points to what I’m saying in my documentary but I also I know that my point is valid and current, so why have I been withdrawn about it? I’ve learnt that I have a default setting of wanting to stand back and see the “other”point of view. To give it as much, if not slightly more value than mine. But I’ve realised that I have to stop sitting on the fence and I need to keep standing up for myself however uncomfortable it makes me.

I haven’t posted a blog for a while because I’ve not had much to say and I wonder if it’s because I’ve let myself shrink back a little and hide away where it’s safe. This documentary is important to me but it’s also exposing and that’s daunting. Especially after The Daily Mail debacle. It’s funny how the strength of another person can push you back if you let them but there are also people out there that can pull you forward. I believe my opinion is only the right option until I hear something better. You can only make decisions based on the information you have and everyday I learn something new. I’ve learn’t over the past month that just because someone can shout louder than you doesn’t mean they’re right.

There is so much out there for us to read, watch and listen to. We are constantly being bombarded by other peoples opinions, sometimes it’s easier to sit back and just watch, I think it’s a great way to learn as well, to get an overview. But you can’t sit on the fence forever, now it’s time  for me to stand up again, stick my neck out and see what happens.

Wish me luck! My short documentary will be out mid June (fingers crossed).

 

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Sitting on the fence

  1. zoe says:

    Good luck with the documentary. Re sitting on the fence, there is no harm in it, some times it is what we need, to just sit back, reflect and let the world happen around us and then when we feel stronger and ready we can face the world anew. I do this every now and then and often wonder why but also in hindsight I always know that it has been valuable. We do learn so much in this time and you will find your voice when you are ready. You don’t have to be strongly opinionated about anything, some times we are open-minded and accept more than one way of seeing things – this is a strength. The important thing is to just listen to your own heart, if it feels right then you know it’s right for you. Look forward to seeing the documentary 🙂

Leave a Reply

