Here are some answers for you.

Me in my little place reading all your emails!

I can’t help but start by saying THANK YOU again, you are amazing and I can’t believe how many people have emailed/tweeted/commented on the article that came out yesterday.

Here are some answers to some of the questions sent in;

Did you write the article? (…your blog is very different.)

The answer is NOPE. I didn’t write it. A journalist at the DM did. They interviewed me over the phone a few times. They seemed to think the way they wrote it would be better for their readership. I did read it before it went out. I did mention to them that I don’t use words like “limpid” and “trammelled”. I’m not sure why they published it as if I’d written it, but hey, that’s what they did.

Are you ok? Some of the comments were way too harsh!

Yes, thanks I’m good. I was ill last week and I’m just happy to be getting better. Sure some of the comments were harsh but some were also true….I have been really spoilt in my life, 65K is a RIDICULOUS amount of money to spend on a wedding, yes I have been selfish and self indulgent in my life, Tom did dodge a bullet etc. No one was saying anything I didn’t already know. I’m a little disappointed that that didn’t come across in the article, the fact that I’m aware of these things, but it’s just a lesson learned. Don’t let DM journalists write your story for you – do it yourself – lazy!

Also as I’ve said I’ve had so much support as well, most of those message came through other media rather than the comments box under the article because I’m not sure many of you (I don’t) subscribe to TDM. Having said that my friends who read through ALL the comments said there were also a lot of people sticking up for me – so thank you to them too.

The key is I’m happy now, I’m happy with who I am. I know I’m a good person so if people have bad things to say, that’s ok. The worst case scenario is l learn something about myself. Which lets face it, can only be a good thing.

Do you have a girlfriend?Β 

Ha ha thank you for asking! At the moment nope, but you never know what’s around the corner.

How did you manage to stay friends with your ex?

Well, mainly because he’s a cool guy and we both tried really hard to make our relationship work and we just couldn’t so, neither of us did anything horrible to each other. We always maintained respect for each other through the whole process of splitting up and getting divorced.

I hope those answers make sense.

If you have any questions or just want to tell me your story please get in touch, you can email me at janadowling@gmail.com. I’ve loved reading about what you have all experienced. It makes me feel happy to know you are out there too.

HAPPY DAYS EVERYONE πŸ™‚

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Here are some answers for you.

  1. zoe says:

    I think it’s wonderful that you are happy in yourself and are able to share it with others in this way. We all deserve happiness in whatever shape or form we find it and to inspire others by telling them about your own experiences can only help those going through the same thing. I was 21 when I told my family about being gay and that was after wrestling with it for many years. I first became aware of being attracted to women when I was 15 – had a crush on a teacher and then spent six years processing the feelings and finding myself really. I had boyfriends because that was the norm, but I never felt a spark with them and never felt comfortable enough to sleep with them. At 21 I met the mother of a lesbian, we worked together, she was so proud of her daughter and open about it. She put us in touch and her daughter became my first female kiss. It was then that I felt that something which I hadn’t felt before and from then on it was the process of coming out to everyone and being able to be myself. It’s has been an interesting journey but it’s the right one πŸ™‚ Looking back even as early as the age of 7 there were signs but some times it takes us a long time to realise these things or indeed life gets in the way of these things happening! After three relationships, am now happily single and happy to wait for the right person to come along πŸ™‚ Keep up the good work, inspiring others to be themselves whatever their upbringing, social standing etc πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

